Italy, Czech Republic and Slovenia secure participation in the 2024 European Championship

Italy, Slovenia and the Czech Republic are the next teams to qualify for the European Football Championship in Germany. The Czechs beat Moldova 3-0 (1-0) on Monday evening, thereby sealing their ticket to the tournament in summer 2024. Slovenia won 2-1 (1-0) against Kazakhstan, a draw was enough for the Italians in the 0-0 draw against Ukraine. Thanks to Bayern striker Harry Kane, the English, who had already qualified in advance, still managed a 1-1 (0-1) draw in North Macedonia.

Kane leads England to a draw against North Macedonia

The Czechs, on the other hand, celebrated a deserved victory. David Doudera (14th minute), Tomas Chory (72nd) and Tomas Soucek (90th) scored the goals for the hosts, for whom a draw would have been enough.

Slovenia took an early lead through RB Leipzig attacker Benjamin Sesko (20th/foul penalty). Then Ramazan Orasow (48th) scored the equalizer in Ljubljana. In the 86th minute, Benjamin Verbic scored the winning goal for the Slovenians.

Substitute Kane at least played a part in the equalizer for the weak Three Lions. Around 30 seconds after he took the ball, the Munich attacker narrowly missed a cross, but the ball then bounced off his opponent Jani Atasanov (59th) into his own goal. Enis Bardhi (41st) had previously given the hosts the lead.

Hank Peter

Learn More →

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *