Nordic countries agree on joint deportation measures

The Nordic countries want to work more closely together on the deportation of rejected asylum seekers and other foreigners without a residence permit. According to the Danish Ministry for Foreigners and Integration, the responsible ministers from Denmark, Sweden, Norway, Finland and Iceland agreed on this at a two-day meeting in Copenhagen.

The five northern countries have a common interest in sending foreigners back to their homeland without a residence permit, said Danish Foreign Minister and Integration Minister Kaare Dybvad Bek on Tuesday.

Nordic countries agree on three initiatives

The ministers have therefore agreed on three initiatives: Firstly, the countries’ migration and deportation officers should meet regularly and strengthen cooperation with third countries so that returns of migrants to their countries of origin can be carried out better.

Secondly, the countries want to organize joint flights from the north to a third country in cooperation with the EU border protection agency Frontex so that people can leave without a residence permit.

Thirdly, irregular migrants stranded in North Africa should be helped by, among other things, offering them voluntary repatriation to their home country.

Denmark is considered a country with a particularly strict migration policy

Denmark has made a name for itself in recent years with its strict immigration policy. Within the EU, Germany’s northern neighbor is working to convince more countries of its migration line.

A year ago, a conservative government came to power in Sweden, supported by the right-wing populist Sweden Democrats.

A coalition including the right-wing populist party The Finns has been in power in Finland since this summer. Both governments have announced a significantly stricter migration course than their previous governments.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *